Sara Bareilles Plays Salt Lake with Holly Conlan and Cary Brothers

Last week Lisa and I headed to In the Venue for the Sara Bareilles concert. Moved from the Avalon Theatre to In the Venue for the insane demand, I can certainly say… It. Was. Packed. I can’t say I’m a fan of In the Venue, but it was high-time for a concert in my book.

It certainly does not help that I am not tall. It most certainly did not help that the girls in front of me were an unusual 6′ in height (I may exaggerate… but only by the slightest of inches). It also certainly does not help that Sara isn’t tall (yes, taller than I am, but no Mariah). Sad!

Peering through the occasional gaps popping up between the crowds (when people weren’t moving all the time!) while straining on my tippy-toes, I… well… read on.

Holly Conlan – a lovely musical surprise. I’m loving her stuff.

Cary Brothers – always a humorous delight. The musical happenstance of his first song on TV: funny forever.

And Sara? Fucking hilarious and a grand entertainer. She’s witty, she’s gracious, she’s brilliant, she’s talented, she’s down-to-earth — It’s hard not to love her even more.

Throughout the show, there was a definite “Hotel Cafe” vibe — which is totally understandable being… these artists all spring from those roots.

Musician after musician with musician supporting musician, duets, backup, banter, friends hanging out with friends– it’s a family up there. Hm… I want in. Adopt me, Hotel Cafe family! *I just want to point out this family also includes the likes of Missy Higgins, Lenka, Meiko and many more awesome folks.

One response to “Sara Bareilles Plays Salt Lake with Holly Conlan and Cary Brothers

  1. Yeah, that was a good concert!

Leave a Reply

