TORC 5: The Happiest “Sad Song” – Lenka

Track on Repeat Craze #5: LenkaSad Song / Two album.

Every time I listen to Lenka, I find my feet tapping, my head bobbing and my body beginning to bounce. She’s just one of those musicians that lifts your mood when you hear her music. Happy, happy, joy, joy.

Most well known for her song, The Show, which was featured in an Old Navy commercial and on Ugly Betty promos, Lenka‘s second album resonates the same sort of pop-gaiety flavor. However, Two builds upon the first album by adding heavier backbone and stronger, bolder beats. It’s obvious that she’s grown as an artist. And drummer, Fernando Sanchez, beats the *oomph* out of the songs – it’s fucking sweet watching them play live.

Anyway… “Sad Song“! As ironic as the lyrics may sound, they make complete sense to me – “sing me a sad song and make me feel better; sing me a happy song and I might start to cry.” You know how sometimes folks get philosophical or sentimental when something strikes a familiar chord?

Why do sad songs make us feel better when we are down?! I think it’s because we don’t want to elate in other people’s success when we are depressed. Yeah? Well, it is still sort of a happy song… but sad at the same time… So, where does that go in the scale of things?! Ai-ya.

Spinning in the 6-disc player:

1. Lenka – Two
2. Kristinia DeBargeExposed
3. Sandi ThomThe Pink and the Lily
4. Missy HigginsThe Sound of White
5. Lady AntebellumNeed You Now
6. Sara Bareilles – Kaleidoscope Heart

Follow Lenka on Facebook or Twitter – like her music, her personality is just as uplifting. Oh hey, she’s also Australian which makes her just the more cooler! Yeah!!

Leave a Reply

