How to: Kymco People S200 Oil Change

I recently re-registered my scoot: a Kymco People S200. It’s been a blast, but after almost a year of not riding it; I thought I should give it some fresh oil.

Being the lazy, 8-hour desk job type that I am… I tried to surf the internet for where the drain bolt was located. I remembered it was different than what the owner’s manual had down. After a few Google searches, I couldn’t find what I was looking for… so I just went for it! Luckily – it was the correct bolt! Oh, by the way… these instructions most likely work for a People S50 and S125 as well (as they all have the same owner’s manual instructions).


Begin by propping up your scoot on its center stand.

Lay down some newspaper to keep oil from dripping to the pavement. And grab a #17 wrench to loosen the drain bolt. It’s located on the underside of the scoot.

It’s more so on the right side of the scoot, but the muffler makes it hard to take a photo…

Grab an empty container or some sort (I just grabbed an empty 2-liter soda bottle from our recycle bin and cut off the top for a larger opening) to use as a drip pan/container. Place it directly underneath the drain bolt so you are ready when it spurts out.

Loosen the bolt slowly! And hang onto the bolt carefully as it will spring out (since there is a spring in there). You could also just let it go and fetch it out of the container later…

Let it drain until the oil is completely gone. And in the meantime, I usually clean off the oil filter, spring and bolt with a paper shop towel (those heavy duty blue ones).

At this point, I went inside for a quick snack and about 20 minutes later… came out to a exhausted oil tank.

This time around, I got motorcycle oil (not sure if it makes a difference but scooter-specific oil was not readily available at the auto store): Valvoline 10W40 Motorcycle Oil.

After the oil has been drained, clean up around the drain opening and tighten the drain bolt assembly back in.

Remember to put the oil screen through the larger opening of the spring. The smaller opening of the spring goes onto the bolt.

Be aware that there is a bit of tension when you tighten the bolt assembly back onto the scoot. The spring will push back a bit so it may be easier to hand-tighten that first bit before resorting to the wrench.

After the drain bolt has been cranked back into place, remove the oil dipstick; this is the fill hole.

Grab a funnel as it’ll be difficult to get the oil in there without making a complete mess sans funnel.

Then pour in about .9 liters of the oil (as specified in the manual) through the funnel. There is a forum post that mentions the fill is only .8 liters rather than the extra tenth that’s written in the manual – so… I filled it to a happy medium (at least that’s what I eyeballed).

Ta-da! That’s all. Screw the dip stick back in and start your scoot for about 3 minutes to get it warmed up – have that fresh new oil run through the system a bit before tucking ‘er in for the night.

I also changed the transmission gear oil – if you are interested in that… Unfortunately I didn’t take photos during the process but here’s a quick recap.

Loosen (and remove) the fill bolt with a… I want to say it was a #10 wrench.

Place a container underneath the drain bolt and unscrew the drain bolt with a #8 wrench.

Once the oil has been exhausted, replace the drain bolt and fill with SAE #90 gear oil. I used Valvoline SAE 80W-90 High Performance Gear Oil.

The owner’s manual specifies it’ll take about .19 liters of oil. It should come near the bottom brim of the fill hole. I may have used a tad more…

Screw back the fill bolt and you are finished!

11 responses to “How to: Kymco People S200 Oil Change

  1. The drain bolt is actually the one at the bottom of the housing, mounted vertically, just above the linkage.

  2. thanks this tutorial was very helpful for the lazy such as myself.

  3. Thanks so much for the info, very helpful.

  4. Great job.You should work for kymco.Well explained.

  5. great job.

  6. I’ve done 3 DYI engine oil changes, and let the dealer do the 600 mile one. I can’t get more than 23 oz (.2 oz) even with dropping the screen, and that includes the DIY immediately after the dealer change. Dip stick says full. Yes, the scoot was on center stand. Any idea where might be the missing oil? Reply to broadeye@comcast.net. Thanks, Bernie

  7. Whoops! Typo … 23 ozis 0.72 oz (not .2).

    • hey bernie, what sort of scoot do you have? if you follow the amount written in the manual, you should be fine (i assume) unless you have a leak or something somewhere. otherwise, when you first load up the oil after a change, it’ll measure differently than after you first run it post-change. the oil goes into the engine and what not so the dipstick will read lower. i’m not sure if this is what you are asking? hope it helps. cheers.

      • Kymco Like 200i. As I may have said, the sip stick reads full, and this does not change after running the engine. Not tobe arrogant, I’m a chemical engineer, and I know how to measure fluids. The dip stick reads full before I drain the oil. 22 oz comes out (even with dropping the screen, which added essentially nothing), and I refill with 22 oz. I couldn’t get 30 oz (as indicated by the manual) into the oil filler if I used a hydraulic pump. In fact, I added another two oz, and its obviously filled to overflowing. It’s a mystery. Guess I’ll talk to the dealer’s mechanic.
        ‘Nother mystery. Changing the gear oil for the first time. Manual says 200 cc (0.2 liters). I was able to cdrain out 150 cc (and, yes, I turned the wheel to maximize the drainage). I squirted back in at least 250 cc, and it still didn’t overflow. So, I’m gonna drain back out the clean oil, and put in 200 cc (and assume the manual is correct).

  8. Well, I guess I meant “dip stick” not “sip stick.” God, I’m such a lame proof reader.

Leave a Reply

